Thomas Jesus

St. Thomas Mission Southampton is  Roman Catholic Church following the Syro Malabar Rite. It is an autonomous Eastern Catholic Major Archiepiscopal Church based in KeralaIndia  in full communion with the Pope and the worldwide Catholic Church, with self-governance under the Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches (CCEO).

We attempt to pass on our rich Catholic Faith, Liturgy and Traditional values to our second generation who are born and brought up in the UK by means of regular Qurbana (Holy Mass in Syro-Malabar Rite), Catechism and other means of spiritual formations such as Retreats, Family Prayer Units, Adoration, Charity etc.

Now we are blessed to have our bishop Mar Joseph Srampickal to guide us in this endeavor. Rev. Fr. Tomy Chirackalmanavalan as the Southampton region Mission Director and priest in charge of St. Thomas Mission Southampton, looks after all our spiritual and community formation activities. If you live in or around Southampton and Salisbury, you are very welcome to join us to grow in faith and to help others as well to grow in faith.


History of Syro Malabar Community, Southampton

Syro Malabar Community, Southampton was established in Nov  2015 and Rev. Fr. Tomy Chirackalmanavalan became the first mass centre in charge for the Syro Malabar Catholics in Southampton and nearby areas. Under the guidance and co-ordination of Rev. Fr. Tomy Chirackalmanavalan, the mass centre flourished as a large community of Syro Malabar Catholics in and around of Southampton. In 2019, the mass centre has been  raised as a Mission centre by Mar George Cardinal Alencherry and Bishop Mar Joseph Srampickal under the  Catholic Syro Malabar Eparchy of Great Briton. (

Our Priest (Rev. Fr. Tomy Chirackalmanavalan)

Rev. Fr. Tomy Chirackalmanavalan is the Mission Director of St. Thomas Mission Southampton  and  looks after all our spiritual and community formation requirements. He is also serving as the parish priest of St. Vincent De Paul Catholic Church, Southampton under the Portsmouth Catholic Diocese.
Fr. Tomy 1

Our Bishop (Mar Joseph Srampical)

Mar Joseph Srampickal was born on 11th August, 1967 as the fourth son of late Mathai Srampickal and Aleykutty Mathew. He is the first Bishop of the Syro-Malabar Eparchy of Great Britain.
Bishop 150x150 2

Our Cardinal (Mar George Alencherry)

Mar George Cardinal Alencherry is the current Major Archbishop (Head) of the Syro-Malabar Catholic Church. He was elected by the Holy Synod of the Syro-Malabar Church in 2011 to succeed Varkey Vithayathil (1999 – 2011). He was created a cardinal of the Catholic Church on 18 February 2012 by Pope Benedict XVI. 
Cardinal alencherry

Our Head of Catholic Church (Pope Francis)

The hierarchy of the Catholic Church is headed by the Bishop of Rome, known as the pope (Latin: papa; “father”), who is the leader of the worldwide Catholic Church. The current pope, Francis, was elected on 13 March 2013 by papal conclave.
Pop francis